What's with all the tattoos on NBA players?

Flamingo kid

Everybody's hands go UP!
Can someone explain the lure to me of staining your body with ink? I'm no doctor (although i play one here at EOG) but isn't that bad for your skin?

I don't see too many MLB players or NHL players stained from head to toe, is there a rule that you have to tattoo your entire body in order to get an NBA gig?

Re: What's with all the tattoos on NBA players?

wade that is a very racist comment in more ways than one. disgusting of you to call the black players "nigerians." makes me not want to post when i see the bigots who i am posting with.

Wade

EOG Master

your obama avatar makes me not want to post here either.

d ray

EOG Dedicated

i agree wade, not too many blacks in the nhl or mlb, i dont think its a coincidence

BEANTOWNJIM

Banned

BOYS WHEN I WAS GROWING UP 30 YEARS AGO YOU WOULD NEVER SEE A BLACK PERSON WITH A TATOO FIRST OFF BECAUSE YOU COULDNT SEE THE COLOR ON THEM IT LOOKED VERY FUNNY IF YOU SAW A BLACK PERSON WITH A NAKED WOMEN WEARING A YELLOW BIKINI BUT YOU COULDNT SEE THE YELLOW BIKINI BECAUSE THERE SKIN WAS BLACK.THEY USED TO GET BRANDED THAT WAS THERE IDEA OF A TATOO BACK IN THE 70'S

PERSONALLY I THINK HALF THE TATOOS ON THESE F-CKING NIGERIANS ARE GANG SIGNS LETS FACE IT BOYS IN THE BLACK COMMUNITY YOU HAVE TO PAY FOR PROTECTION ONCE YOU HAVE MADE THE BIG TIME.LOOK AT WHAT HAPPENED TO PAUL PIERCE HERE IN BOSTON WHEN HE GOT STABBED IN A NIGHT CLUB HE WOULDNT EVEN THINK OF TESTIFING IN THAT CASE SO HE DID THE NEXT BEST THING HE PAYS STREET GANGS FOR BODYGAURDS WHEN HE GOES OUT.THEY ALL CARRY POSSIES IN THE NBA ALLAN IVERSON HAS ABOUT 10 GUYS PAID TO PROTECT HIM SO WHEN HE IS OUT PARTYING IN THE HOOD NOBODY TAKES A SHOT AT HIM.